On face masks

I’ve been thinking about face masks a lot lately, haven’t you? It’s fun to see all the variations of fabrics and styles, not to mention how people wear them! When I first started sewing masks I used a simple design that was easily adjustable and would fit all different size faces. It was pleated in front and had ties in matching fabric to tie behind your ears and neck. I liked it because you could leave the bottom straps tied and let it hang around your neck, but after a while I got really tired of tying and untying those straps. Sometimes the straps get knotted, and it’s hard to see the knots to untie them. I tried replacing the ties with elastic – a shorter piece for behind the neck, and a longer piece for the head. Then it was tricky to put it on with the shorter side down. I was resistant to the masks with the elastic behind the ears – they just didn’t look very comfortable. But I tried, and actually I like them the best! They are easy to put on and take off. The masks have no top or bottom or front or back; you can’t get simpler than that. And even though elastic is fussy, it’s a lot less work than creating those fabric straps. I’ve been making masks for friends and strangers for the past few months. I like to think about the person who will be receiving the mask and send them good wishes to be safe. I love it that my masks are being worn all over the country helping people. Now that it seems that face masks will be part of our daily life for a while we might as well be comfortable and fashionable. Please check out these new masks on Instagram and in my Etsy store.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started